1. Health
Send to a Friend via Email

The Small Intestines


Updated March 23, 2012

The Small Intestines
Photo © A.D.A.M.
The small intestine is about 24 feet long. It's a muscular tube that is divided into three distinct parts: duodenum, jejunum and ileum. The three parts are major sites of digestion and absorption. Absorption is a crucial part of the digestive system that brings the molecules from the digested food into the blood and, ultimately, the cells.
  1. About.com
  2. Health
  3. Hepatitis

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.